Spring is coming

 

cherry blossomsIn my Christmas letter I made reference to the list I had begun of “one thousand gifts I already have,” inspired by Ann Voskamp’s book, One Thousand Gifts.  As Voskamp chronicles the miraculous transformation she experienced through “this dare to write down one thousand things I love.” she affirms how over and over again, “thanksgiving always precedes the miracle.”

I have been giving thanks.  God has opened up sealed parts of my heart. And the miracles are coming.

Hannah has been on methadone since March of last year, requiring daily trips to a clinic a half hour away to get her doses.  It has kept her off heroin, but she has never felt well or whole.  In December Medicaid, which has been financing the methadone treatment, “happened” to decide that she was not eligible for it any more, and cut off her benefits at the end of the month.  She predicted a lot of repercussions from this, but one that none of us saw coming was that her boyfriend of nearly four years decided that this was something he did not want to deal with and left her for an old girlfriend, right after Christmas.  She recently confided to me, “I asked God to get him out of my life, just before my Medicaid was cut.”  God had heard her prayer, and intervened.  She is ready to turn her back on all the choices and associations that have caused her so much pain, and begin a new life.

Look out, world, here comes Derek!  He is asking me to prioritize my time to help “pave the road” for him, but he is definitely not spinning his wheels anymore.  He is looking into getting tested for Aspergers, so he can pursue accommodations to take college courses.  Please pray for the right connections and leads for him.

John‘s planned trips to Nigeria this year are on hold, due to internal problems with our national partner. Pray for Seed Company management and the affected translation projects as they seek the Lord’s direction on how to move forward. In the meantime, John continues to work remotely with the Nzanyi team and may travel to other communities in Nigeria or Uganda.

I continue to be available to help translation teams with grammar/discourse questions as needs arise, and I am also working on getting healthy after the stresses of these past few years – getting counseling and setting healthy boundaries for myself.  We are also working with a Partnership Development coach – thank you for continuing to pray with us for 100% funding.

Yes, this has been a difficult season.  Thanks for walking through it with us.  I want to share a song that has been a theme song for me:  Cherry Blossoms, by Andy Squyres, a local artist here in Charlotte.  Click on the link above for the video, and be encouraged:  Spring is coming!

About Barb Heins

I'm with The Seed Company, an affiliate of Wycliffe Bible Translators, working to speed Bible translation in Nigeria and throughout Africa. I'm also wife to John, mom to Derek and Hannah, grandma to Michael and under renovation at Renovatus Church in Charlotte, NC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

